Being a kid (and being a parent) in Sweden

I thought it would be easier to be a parent in Sweden, and it is. But I am a bit surprised by why.  I would have predicted that it had to do with benefits like parental leave and government-subsidized daycare. However, even though we don’t have access to those benefits (yet – Anna will start daycare in August), it is still easier to be a parent here. Why?

The biggest reason is not that surprising – the Swedish government invests a lot of money in children. As I have mentioned before, the parks are fantastic, with options for every age group. We were also excited this summer to learn that the City of Gothenburg has a whole slew of special activities, organized under the hashtag #sommarlov (summer love), because every kid “has the right to a fun summer.” Last week, Simon and Anna made a mosaic that will be incorporated into our favorite park.

Kids4.jpg

The week before that, we went to a short play in a library. And the week before that, Simon did a claymation workshop. All of these things were free! And there are many more.

It’s not just governmental programs, though. I have noticed that (adult-oriented) museums and other institutions often have special activities for children– more than in the United States. For example, this weekend we went to a small art museum. They had special activity boxes (with prompts about the paintings, as well as props), a “break from art” room with Legos (!), and a workshop room where you could try watercolors yourself (for 10 kronor per person, or about $1, to cover supplies).

Kids1

It’s hard to know where programs like the ones at the art museum originate. (Obviously I could do some research into this, but I haven’t – yet). Some of it, perhaps, is subsidized by the Swedish government. It’s also possible that there is some institutional learning involved– in other words, that the types of programs funded and organized by the government are being adopted by other organizations. But I also think it is linked to Swedish culture — it says something about a country’s value for children and children’s culture when they put a children’s book author (Astrid Lingren, author of Pippi Longstocking!) on their currency.

Astrid.jpg

Photo credit: https://somethingswedish.wordpress.com/tag/books/

I am going to keep thinking about these questions as we continue to adjust to Swedish life. I don’t want to imply that it’s all rosy for kids and parents in Sweden – people are very quiet, at least in public (i.e., in the grocery store), and I feel like I am constantly shushing my loud American children. I think that being a parent probably comes with challenges in all places. But there are many things that make it easier for parents and children here, and I appreciate that we have the chance to experience them.

Leave a comment